POST #16

I read my first Austen novel, Pride and Prejudice, at age 13 when I received it in a white elephant gift exchange. I was already a lover of history and classics, but that was really the start of a life long love affair.

I was instantly hooked on Austen’s writing style and fell in love with the characters. I felt that I really related to Lizzie. We both were clever, sensible girls who loved to read and would only settle for true love in a relationship. I read Northanger Abbey next and kept on reading and reading until I had finished all six novels. Of course, then I had to watch every film adaptation, starting with the 2005 Pride and Prejudice and 1995 Pride and Prejudice. All Austen books and films are near and dear to my heart.

So thank you, Miss Austen. Thanks for creating some classy female leads who are strong but not rebellious or brash. Thanks for showing us that not all novels need have plot lines revolving around espionage, infidelity and murder. Thanks for showing how everyday life can be just as entertaining. Your wit, satire and talent lives on.

Also, thanks for Mr. Darcy.

-Faith

Leave a Reply

