Post #3

How the work of Jane Austen affected my life:

First of all, I want to explain how I identify with one of the most famous characters of Jane Austen, Lizzie Bennet. Only the deepest lover will persuade me into matrimony, which is why I will end up and old maid …

That is my rule of life, and yes, I am single, and actually happily single, I have a lot of friends ( women and men) that are married and unhappy, and they don’t know why they married. When I ask to them the answer is: because it was the next logical step, because I am not making me younger, because I don´t want to be alone .. and that is sad, because you stay in a relationship because you felt sad or empty.

I don’t want that, I don’t want to be the woman who are married because it was the obvious thing to do. I want to marry because I am in love, and because the other person love me, because he see in me a partner, a lover, a travel friend, a support and vice versa.

I should not settle, and that’s how Jane Austen change my life. With Lizzie, of course, I met Mr Darcy, but Lizzie teach me that you don’t have to settle, if a man loves you, he will do everything for you, Lizzie reject a marry proposal, but Mr Darcy loved her so much, that he takes care of her with some distance, because she was the kind of woman who knows what she deserves, and there is no proposal, money, or charming that make her compromise her integrity.

Lizzie Bennet teach me that you will only permit what you deserve, you should not settle.

-S.G., Colombia

Leave a Reply

